Xbox Free Play Days has seven games in its October 8 to 11 weekend lineup, but access is not the same for every title. ARC Raiders is playable by all Xbox members without Game Pass. Screamer and Family Man require a Game Pass Ultimate, Premium or Essential membership for full weekend access, while High On Life 2, S.T.A.L.K.E.R. 2: Heart of Chornobyl, Little Nightmares III and Rogue Waters are listed as timed trials for all Xbox players.
AT A GLANCE
- Event dates October 8 to 11, 2026
- No Game Pass needed ARC Raiders, full weekend
- Membership needed Screamer and Family Man, full weekend
- Timed trials High On Life 2, S.T.A.L.K.E.R. 2, Little Nightmares III, Rogue Waters
Check the access type before downloading
The headline is the all-member ARC Raiders weekend. Xbox says no Game Pass subscription is required to try Embark Studios' extraction shooter during the event. The promotion also coincides with the Frozen Trail update, which Xbox describes as the game's biggest update since launch. The store announcement offers a 50 percent discount on the base game, Deluxe Edition and Deluxe Edition upgrade through October 15. Prices and availability can vary by region.
The other six games are split into two groups. Screamer and Family Man can be played throughout the weekend by people with an eligible Game Pass membership. Xbox lists Screamer at $23.99, down from $59.99, and Family Man at $2.99, down from $19.99, in the US store. Discounts may vary by territory. The four remaining games are trials, so do not assume they grant the full game for the entire weekend.
Xbox Free Play Days: October 8, 2026Xbox lists the weekend lineup, access requirements and purchase discounts.↗The four trials have their own limits
Xbox names High On Life 2, S.T.A.L.K.E.R. 2: Heart of Chornobyl, Little Nightmares III and Rogue Waters as timed trials available to all Xbox players. The announcement does not give a single trial length that applies to all four games. Check each Microsoft Store listing for its own install button and trial terms, and treat the time as limited even if the download remains installed afterward.
For S.T.A.L.K.E.R. 2, the event gives Xbox players a chance to sample the game around its 2.0 performance update, but the Free Play Days post itself does not detail that update's technical changes. This story focuses on the access window, not a patch breakdown. Similarly, Little Nightmares III appears as a trial; the announcement does not specify a co-op duration or promise that the entire game can be completed during the trial.
Keep your progress if you buy
Xbox says Gamerscore and achievements carry over if you buy a game after trying it. ARC Raiders has a separate discount window through October 15, while Free Play Days ends October 11. The announcement does not state the weekend cutoff hour, so check the store on the final day. The ARC Raiders Xbox listing has edition details. Xbox links High On Life 2 as one of the timed trials.
In an r/XboxGamePass discussion about the same weekend, players asked which games were full-access weekends and which used short trial timers. The seven-game lineup makes that distinction easy to miss, so check each store listing before downloading.
To find the games, open the Xbox Store on console and browse the Free Play Days collection, or follow each game page on Xbox.com. The blog says installation options are available from the individual title pages, and eligible Game Pass members may need to be signed in before the membership offer appears. If a title does not show the expected trial or install option, confirm that the account region and subscription match its store requirements.
On Xbox One and Xbox Series X|S, the Free Play Days collection is under the Store's Subscriptions tab. Xbox.com links open the corresponding Microsoft Store listing, where the install option appears after sign-in.
This is a different kind of access from the usual monthly subscription library. ARC Raiders is expressly open to all Xbox members for the weekend, while the other offerings are either limited trials or subscriber-only full access. Our Xbox Game Pass October lineup covers the broader membership catalog.
Frequently asked questions
Is ARC Raiders free on Xbox this weekend without Game Pass?
Yes. Xbox says all members can play ARC Raiders from October 8 through October 11 without a Game Pass membership.
Which Free Play Days games require Game Pass?
Screamer and Family Man are listed for Game Pass Ultimate, Premium and Essential members. Four other titles are timed trials for all players.
Can I keep my progress after Free Play Days?
Xbox says Gamerscore and achievements carry over when you buy the game. Check the individual store page for trial terms and any saved-data details.
When does Xbox Free Play Days end?
Xbox lists the event through Sunday, October 11, 2026, but its announcement does not specify a cutoff hour.
Pick the version of access that suits you
ARC Raiders is the clearest no-cost option in this lineup because Xbox explicitly makes the full weekend available to every member. The subscription games and timed trials have narrower terms. Check those distinctions before setting aside time, and use the Xbox store pages for current regional availability and prices.

